SDP Backs Gbajabiamila On Appointment Of Minority Principal Officers


The Social Democratic Party, (SDP) has aligned with the Speaker, House of Representatives, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila on the choice of Principal Minority Officers announced during plenary on Wednesday.

The position of SDP was made known by its only member in the House, Tajudeen Adefisoye, (‘Young Alhaji’).

Adefisoye spoke with reporters after all members of the minority parties read a communique on the choice of Minority Principal Officers announced by the Speaker.

Adefisoye who is representing Idanre/Ifedore federal constituency of Ondo state said the names read by the Speaker on the floor of the House truly reflected the choices made by members of the minority parties.

He said” I speak on behalf of my party, the SDP which is one of the minority parties in the House. I want to make it amply clear that the names read on the floor of the House by the Speaker were the ones duly nominated and endorsed by myself and other colleagues in minority parties”.

He described the Principal Minority Officers announced by the speaker as very competent and responsible honourable members that the House could readily vouch for their reliability and moral standings.

Adefisoye also described the names sent by the PDP to the Speaker as a mere manifestation of wishful thinking.

He said, ” The names sent to the Speaker by the PDP is null and void as far as we are concerned. The reality is that PDP cannot unilaterally decide on the issue of minority principal officers for all other minority parties. After all, PDP is just one party out of the multiple minority parties in the House”.

The minority principal officers are Ndudi Olumelu – Minority Leader, Hon. Tobi Okechukwu – Deputy Minority Leader, Hon. Gideon Gwoni – Minority Whip and Hon. Adesegun Adekoya -Deputy Minority Whip. [THE NATION]


vgn news



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here