Drama, Intrigues As Anambra Assembly Gets New Speaker, Deputy


Hon Uche Okafor representing Ayamelum state Constituency, has emerged the new Speaker of the 7th Anambra State House of Assembly, alongside Hon Pascal Agbodike representing Ihiala 11 Constituency as his deputy.

The two term lawmakers emerged unopposed Wednesday as clerk of the House, Mr Pius Udoh piloted affairs.

However, the surprising aspect of the inauguration Wednesday was that out of the 30 member Assembly, only one woman was elected in the person of Hon Beverly Ikpeazu, (Onitsha 1Constituency)

Okafor, who is a son of a former member of old Anambra State House of Assembly, was nominated by Hon. Edward Ibuzo of Onitsha North I and seconded by Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu of Dunukofia constituency.

In the same vein, Agbodike was nominated by Hon. Timothy Ifedioranma of Njikoka I and seconded by Hon. Emeka Aforka of Orumba north.

Their emergence as leaders of the 7th Assembly did not come without intrigues and drama, as the Speaker is from the same Anambra North Senatorial zone with Governor Willie Obiano.

The principal officers, it would be recalled, were among those suspended by some members of the 6th Assembly when they purportedly impeached Speaker Rita Maduagwu.

Also suspended then was Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu, who had been compensated with the post to Chief Whip of the House which he equally held in 6th Assembly.

Other principal officers appointed by the two political parties in the House, All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) with 24 members and People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with six members were Hon. Nnamdi Okafor, Majority leader.

Others were Hon. Emeka Aforka, Deputy majority leader; Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu, chief Whip; and Hon. Beverly Ikpeazu, Deputy Chief Whip.

Also, Hon. Onyebuchi Offor, Minority Leader; Hon. Ebele Ejiofor,  Deputy minority leader; Hon. Somtochukwu Udeze, Deputy Minority Whip; and Hon. Douglas Egbuna deputy minority whip. [THE NATION]


naija news



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here