Itse Sagay Heads Anti-Corruption Committee

Prof. Itse Sagay, a prominent professor of law and civil rights activist has been appointed as the head of the newly constituted Presidential Advisory Committee against Corruption.
The Committee’s brief is to advise the government on the prosecution of the war against corruption and the implementation of required reforms in Nigeria’s criminal justice system.
Other members of the Committee, which is also expected to develop comprehensive interventions for achieving recommended reforms, are: Prof. Femi Odekunle, a Professor of Criminology, Ahmadu Bello University, as Member; Dr. Benedicta Daudu, Associate Professor of International Law, University of Jos – Member; Prof. E. Alemika, Professor of Sociology, University of Jos – Member; Professor Sadiq Radda, Professor of Criminology, Bayero University, Kano – Member; Hadiza Bala Usman, Civil Society Activist – Member; and Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies as Member/Executive Secretary of the Committee.
A statement on Monday by presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina, said in support of the Federal Government’s efforts, an Anti-Corruption and Criminal Justice Reform Fund has been established by three international development partners namely the Ford Foundation, MacArthur Foundation and Open Society Foundation.
“The $5 million fund is to assist implementation of key components of the Action Plan and the work of the Presidential Advisory Committee.
“The fund will be managed by Trust Africa, an international development Civil Society Organisation with programme presence in more than 25 African countries.”