Lawan Names Seven-Man Conference Committee On NIPOST Bill


President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday, announced the composition of a conference committee on the Nigerian Postal Service bill passed by the chamber on June 8, 2021.

The Special Assistant (Press) of the Senate President, Ezrel Tabiowo, said Lawan made the announcement at the start of plenary.

Members of the Committee chaired by the Deputy Senate Leader, Senator Robert Ajayi Borrofice, include Senators Oluremi Shade Tinubu, Bello Mandiya, Akon Eyakenyi, Bala Ibn Na’Allah, Istifanus Gyang and Abba Moro.

They are expected to meet with their counterparts in the House of Representatives to harmonise the two versions of the NIPOST bill passed by both chambers of the National Assembly.

Meanwhile, three bills sponsored by Senators Chukwuka Utazi (Enugu North), Sani Musa (Niger East) and George Thompson Sekibo (Rivers East) scaled second reading in the Senate.

They include a bill seeking to establish the Federal Medical Centre Obukpa, Nsukka, Enugu State; a bill to repeal the Firearms Act No. 32 1959 Cap F28 LFN 2004 to establish a comprehensive system of firearms control; and a bill to amend the Immigration Act 2015 to make provision for the mode of appointment of the Comptroller-General of Immigration and for other related matters respectively.

The bills after consideration were referred by the Senate President to the Committees on Health (Secondary and Tertiary); Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters; and Interior.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here