Two More Members-Elect Sworn In As Edo Assembly Reconvenes


Members of the Edo State House of Assembly on Monday cut short their adjournment and reconvened under tight security to swear in two more members-elect.

Principal officers were also elected during plenary.

Recall that nine out of the 24 members-elect of the House were inaugurated last Monday, behind closed doors.

The House thereafter adjoined to July 17, 2019, to enable others to complete the necessary documentation.

The two members-elect sworn-in by the Clerk of the House, Yahaya Audu Omogbai were Emmanuel Okoduwa (Esan North-East l) and Sunday Ojezele (Esan South-East) respectively.

Their swearing-in makes it a total of 11 lawmakers so far.

Principal officers of the House elected were, Roland Asoro (Orhionmwon ll), House Leader, Marcus Onobun (Esan West) as Deputy Leader, Henry Okhuarobo (Ikpoba Okha) as Chief Whip, while Nosayaba Okunbor was co-opted into the Principal Officers Council.

However, only nine members, including the Speaker, were present at plenary, while two were absent.

The House thereafter adjourned till July 17, 2019. [PUNCH]


nigeria news



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here